Assembly Leadership Changes Could Bode Well for Bay Area

If you believe that whoever controls the levers of power conveys any political advantage, then the leadership and legislative committee changes announced this week by Speaker Robert Rivas (Salinas), whose district includes parts of Santa Clara and Santa Cruz counties, bode well for the Bay Area. Bay Area Assemblymembers were appointed to 10 key roles, with Assemblymember Buffy Wicks (Oakland) being named Appropriations Chair, Assemblymember Lori Wilson (Suisun City) being named Chair of the Transportation Committee, Assemblymember Jim Wood (Mendocino/Sonoma) being named Speaker pro Tempore, Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry (Napa) being named Majority Leader, and Assemblymember Matt Haney (San Francisco) being named Majority Whip, among other appointments. The Bay Area Council was instrumental in creating the Bay Area Legislative Caucus to align the region’s legislative interests and ensure the region’s interests are well represented in the statehouse.

See list of all appointments>>

Subscribe to The Weekly Flash Subscribe
News and Guts Search Menu Left Angle Up Angle Down Angle Right Angle Left Arrow Right Arrow Email User Play Pause Fullscreen Exit Fullscreen Unmute Mute Close Loading Gallery Arrow Gallery Youtube Facebook Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn Pinterest Google + Flickr Yelp Trip Advisor